Quittin’ Time: Perrin

caption id=”attachment_137″ align=”alignnone” width=”600″ caption=”Tria and I (almost) won the office decorating contest this Christmas. Rigging this up was probably the most manual labor I’ve done at a job. We are such dorks but hey it beats Excel.”]

Darn Desk


[/caption]

While working in the Marvel building, I’ve gotten pretty tight with the superheros. This is my coworker, Iron Man Deuce.

Coworkers at an Adult Swim M.I.A. Concert for the media planning community – goofballs

A few words about the job I am leaving, for those who like before-and-after scenarios. I work at an ad agency in a building shared with Marvel Comics. Numerous full-size superhero replicas haunt our floor, including a giant Spiderman on wheels. Spiderman is frequently relocated. Sometimes I hyperventilate when he comes wheeling unexpectedly around the corner at me while I’m trying to walk to the bathroom without pissing my pants.

I have too much fun with these things...even though they scare the crap outta me. If only Ed Norton were inside this Hulk outfit...

I share an office with the most kickass media planner on the block, Tria (pictured in antlers below). It’s her birthday today, Happy Birthday Tria! In general, as far as coworkers go, mine are normal enough. One of bosses Kevin and I take turns buying cookies for each other so he’s swell in my book. Once he taped a $5 above my door to see if Tria and I would notice since we’re both vertically challenged. I found it but had to get someone else to reach it down for me…this was one of the more exciting incidences during my time in the office.

Tria and I (almost) won the office decorating contest this Christmas. Rigging this up was probably the most manual labor I've done at a job. We are such dorks but hey it beats Excel.

A highlight of my day is lunch, which is generally spent in 1 of 3 ways. The first 2 involve pilfering subsidized or free food like a real self-supporting New Yorker.

What I do on lunch hour

30% of the time: Meet with friends in Bryant Park or at someone’s p-i-m-p (read: bargain basement priced) office cafeteria…how else would I know that Scadden serves delicious fried chicken? Didn’t expect that.

10%: Slip off to a long lunch with coworkers and sales reps, if it is Friday or another happy day. Eat steak. Creep back into office. Attempt to disguise the Cheshire Cat grin stretched across my face.

60%: Sit at desk eating microwavable food and composing something in Microsoft Office, compulsively pressing Control-S for assurance while fervently making calls, pulling reports and doing some 7th grade math. These lunchtime funfests end with an “Ahh” when the final deliverable is delivered and the final conference is called. At this point it is time to run out for late afternoon cookie and Diet Coke. Mmm, a day full of vitamins and minerals.

Planning Disney’s digital media does, as you might expect, involve exploring numerous children’s websites. My most alarming finding is tween and teen virtual worlds: check out Gaia and Zwinky. When you set your avatars up on these sites they’re all wearing such skanky underwear. Cover up, minors, for chrissake!

Anyway. I might miss my job, particularly the responsibility and the satisfaction I get when my media projects succeed. I have been enjoying work and NYC more with each year and feel like I’m improving as a planner and a NYer – but I am itching to roam. It barely feels like a choice any more because I will be dissatisfied and fidgety if I don’t. So, sayonara deliverables, Excel and Spiderman! Tomorrow is my last day.

Shenanigans with Sister Bailey at a media event...I sneak her in a lot but she contributes to the party atmosphere so I don't feel guilty

About sistersbailey

We are Perrin and Sarah Bailey, collectively known as “The Sisters Bailey”. The moniker was born out of a crazy weekend at the 2009 New Orleans Jazz Fest and it was the first time we had ever been referred to as one unit. We grew up in Alexandria, VA together and then separated for college - Perrin to The University of Pennsylvania and Sarah to Northwestern University – and somehow landed together in New York after graduation. It was in the midst of the hustle of Manhattan that we became friends for the first time in years. Somehow we landed jobs in the same industry - Sarah worked in marketing at HBO and Perrin managed creative digital promotions for her media agency’s main client, Disney - just three blocks from one another. One day we decided to leave our jobs, sell our belongings and travel abroad with a backpack and a collective savings of $10K. The stories of our continuing adventures and those of other fearless travelers are here to inspire you.
This entry was posted in Leaving Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

