France Bonus: Cheap Drugs!

Holding my American birth control ($25 with health insurance and a prescription) and the French version ($7.63 with no insurance or prescription).

While Washington goes in circles over healthcare I’m going to be stocking up on prescription drugs over here in France.  I know people always talk about the low cost of European and Canadian prescription drugs but I didn’t know just how easy it was to secure these pills until today.

Unfortunately I am not sexual active on this trip but I still like to be on birth control (a little regulation is convenient when you’re traveling and unsure where your next clean toilet will be).  So this morning I walked three blocks to the local Lyon pharmacie and gave them my US prescription birth control package and asked if they could give me the same kind.  The guy behind the counter whipped out a massive dictionary of prescription drugs, found the same one, got me three months worth and said, “That will be 5.80 euro, please”.  Say whaaaat??   WITH the best healthcare plan in the US I paid $25 for three months worth of the same pills and had to have a “note” from my doctor.  Merci beaucoup, France.

Guillaume, my pharmacie helper, digging through the prescription drug dictionary (is it just me or should this be computerized in 2010?) to find the same birth control I have now. In 5 minutes, I was set for three more months!

About sistersbailey

We are Perrin and Sarah Bailey, collectively known as “The Sisters Bailey”. The moniker was born out of a crazy weekend at the 2009 New Orleans Jazz Fest and it was the first time we had ever been referred to as one unit. We grew up in Alexandria, VA together and then separated for college - Perrin to The University of Pennsylvania and Sarah to Northwestern University – and somehow landed together in New York after graduation. It was in the midst of the hustle of Manhattan that we became friends for the first time in years. Somehow we landed jobs in the same industry - Sarah worked in marketing at HBO and Perrin managed creative digital promotions for her media agency’s main client, Disney - just three blocks from one another. One day we decided to leave our jobs, sell our belongings and travel abroad with a backpack and a collective savings of $10K. The stories of our continuing adventures and those of other fearless travelers are here to inspire you.
This entry was posted in France and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

