Fit on a Farm

By Sarah

I don't know if it's physically possible for me to eat breakfast in Manhattan anymore.

Three days ago I arrived at my new Wwoofing farm in Sella, Spain, about 40 kilometers from the coastal town of Benidorm. Believe it or not there are actually fewer people (pop. 600) in this village than in Tobarra. On the plus side, the farm nestles in the Casta Blanca mountains. Its lush rolling hill views and fresh water springs trump the wheat fields and tumbleweed of my last Wwoofer spot.

The other bonus is that there is no shit to shovel. The couple that owns the house is comprised of a stunning Spanish woman (Via) and a distractingly rugged, handsome South African man (Johnny). They moved here to start an action adventure camp. Every week adventurers of all ages come to enjoy a vacation filled with outdoor sports, from rocking climbing to kayaking to hiking. Our job is to make sure that they eat well, their dishes are clean and that they have fun.

Our days are full of healthy behavior that my body finds confusing and painful after a three month reprieve from genuine exercise. We eat fruits, veggies and mayo-less sandwiches at every meal. From 10am to 5pm we work our bodies hard. Yesterday we climbed rocks for five hours; today my arms and legs were so sore I almost needed a crutch to get to the kitchen. To give my body a break, we did a 20K rigorous bike ride straight up the nearest hillside. To cool off in the afternoon, we take a dip in the natural swimming pool in the backyard.

This pool looks lovely, but it's a chilly 40 degrees. Best encountered only when one is sweating profusely and the sun is high in the sky. Then a few laps are refreshing.

At night Johnny cooks us all a five-course meal. When you have 12 guests, four Wwoofers, two “bosses” and their two children, this is a hefty task. The Wwoofers spend at least an hour cutting vegetables, smashing garlic and doing anything else we need to land a gourmet dinner on the table. After we clean the kitchen, I collapse into bed. I’ve only been here a few days and I already feel my health returning.

We have to withdraw all our water from the fresh spring well. I looked for a power button but you actually just use the pulley. Huh?

Johnny and Via dish up dinner.  Cooking a gourmet meal for 20 requires all Wwoofers on deck.

I have big plans for myself during my stay here. We will go rock climbing at least three times a week: I’ll be Spiderwoman by the end of my stay. I’m also learning kitchen secrets from Johnny. I’ll master Spanish cooking before I leave this country if it kills me!

Right now I look like this...

... by the end I'd like to look more like this...

About sistersbailey

We are Perrin and Sarah Bailey, collectively known as “The Sisters Bailey”. The moniker was born out of a crazy weekend at the 2009 New Orleans Jazz Fest and it was the first time we had ever been referred to as one unit. We grew up in Alexandria, VA together and then separated for college - Perrin to The University of Pennsylvania and Sarah to Northwestern University – and somehow landed together in New York after graduation. It was in the midst of the hustle of Manhattan that we became friends for the first time in years. Somehow we landed jobs in the same industry - Sarah worked in marketing at HBO and Perrin managed creative digital promotions for her media agency’s main client, Disney - just three blocks from one another. One day we decided to leave our jobs, sell our belongings and travel abroad with a backpack and a collective savings of $10K. The stories of our continuing adventures and those of other fearless travelers are here to inspire you.
This entry was posted in Spain, Wwoofing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fit on a Farm

  1. Pingback: Top 30 Travel Moments | Sisters Bailey Blog

  2. Anna Garvs says:

    Hi Sarah, I’m looking into wwoofing at the moment, and from your account this place looks great! I was just wondering what the name of the place is? Thank you!

Leave a Reply

