Do Sisters Make You Happier?

By Sarah

An essay in today’s New York Times reported the findings from a recent study that concluded, “Having a Sister Makes You Happier”.   The writer then went on to psychoanalyze if the findings were true — that talking to a sister makes you a happier person than talking to anyone else, including a brother.

I have always wanted a brother to play practical jokes on me and set me up with his (hot and fun) friends.  But I have never wished I had a brother to talk to.  A sister can empathize and give advice that no man would ever understand.  Perrin and I can call each other after breakups and feel the personal pain.  After all, we both know, from much personal experience, that most men in New York are, indeed, jerks.   And we can say the right thing in the others’ time of crisis.

So, I agree with the findings.  I am naturally a very happy person but, on those days when I’m feeling cranky, I am happier because I have a sister.

About sistersbailey

We are Perrin and Sarah Bailey, collectively known as “The Sisters Bailey”. The moniker was born out of a crazy weekend at the 2009 New Orleans Jazz Fest and it was the first time we had ever been referred to as one unit. We grew up in Alexandria, VA together and then separated for college - Perrin to The University of Pennsylvania and Sarah to Northwestern University – and somehow landed together in New York after graduation. It was in the midst of the hustle of Manhattan that we became friends for the first time in years. Somehow we landed jobs in the same industry - Sarah worked in marketing at HBO and Perrin managed creative digital promotions for her media agency’s main client, Disney - just three blocks from one another. One day we decided to leave our jobs, sell our belongings and travel abroad with a backpack and a collective savings of $10K. The stories of our continuing adventures and those of other fearless travelers are here to inspire you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Do Sisters Make You Happier?

  1. Brenna says:

    AMEN sistah! This entry resonates deep. 🙂

    p.s. You are doing an amazing thing, having an incredible adventure, and I’m calling this bold, enviable move from now on “The Sarah Bailey.”

  2. This is Perrin, I obviously second that. Even though you did throw me in the trash can when I was a baby.
    I’d like to add my thanks to you in particular for expanding family boundaries–extending curfew, dating a Republican, and joining me in my adventure abroad such that I wouldn’t be counted at the only crazy daughter. Love you!

  3. Every time I see blogs as good as this because I should stop bludging and start working on mine.Thanks

Leave a Reply

