GUEST POST | The Job That Ruined Your Travel Plans

Local adventure to feed your travel bug.

PR guru and recovering (?) travel addict

PR guru and recovering (?) travel addict

By Savannah Marie

What happens to your travel itinerary when “real life” calls you back to a routine of steady employment and regular paychecks? That’s the question I have been trying to answer for the last few months.

The travel bug bit hard the summer after high school graduation, so I wandered. As a college student, I dedicated every spare break and every saved dime to traveling. That is, until I was offered a position in PR that I wouldn’t dream of passing up.

I understand that full-time employment requires full-time work. And my job certainly makes funding my trips easier in the future. It’s just that traveling was about whim, and work is about consistency. There’s little room for error, little room for deviation and a lot of room for excel sheets.

Instead of being morose about my full-time employment lot in life, I got proactive. All I wanted was a little adventure, right? Well, I put my wanderlust to good use and set about experiencing all the cool things my new city has to offer. Adventure comes in all shapes and sizes, and for once in my life I don’t need a passport to chase it!

Here are some of my tips to finding adventure wherever you may be:

  • In the mood for exotic food? Eat local! I’ve learned that the culinary world has embraced cuisines from all seven continents just as I have. Try a local Thai restaurant or splurge on great sushi – the more authentic the restaurant the better! Experiencing a nontraditional meal will inspire your sense of adventure. Not sure how to find awesome local eats? Check out the app!

  • Go on a field trip. Use Google’s Field Trip app as your guide to finding unique things to do right in your own backyard. Google filters the local attractions in to seven different categories:  food and drink, cool and unique, architecture, historic places and events, lifestyle, offers, and outdoor art.  Use this app to truly discover and explore the place you live.

  • Check out the local music scene — just make sure to do your research and sus out whether the band is actually worth spending the cover on.

  • See what nature has to offer. Depending on your locale, you might have some awesome parks or trails you never thought to explore. AllTrails has an app that will find trail maps nearest you. You can take pictures, video, save the trail maps you’ve used, and read reviews from hikers who have completed the trail you’re looking for. Fill a day pack with food, water, a lightweight waterproof jacket and go.

  • Find a Meetup. Sometimes you want to try something new, but can’t coerce any of your friends to get onboard with your idea. Meetups are the perfect way to meet like-minded people who want to do fun things. There is a group for every interest you might have. Whether it is wine tasting, gaming, sports or politics, there are people out there dying to meet you. Type in your city to find all the different Meetup groups near you.

  • Become a fan of your local sports team. I’m not particularly into sports, but I am a fan of beer and a good hotdog. Grab a few friends and get tickets to the local hockey game. If you’re lucky, you’ll get to see someone lose a tooth up close and personal. Sounds like a good time to me.

The bottom line is: Don’t be confined by where you live. You can have an adventure no matter where you are as long as you’re in the right frame of mind. So, give it a shot. Get creative and have some fun!

Savannah Marie is a traveler, writer and PR enthusiast. She is the editor of her blog, Mixios, which features posts on everything from social media to travel. Follow her on Twitter.

About sistersbailey

We are Perrin and Sarah Bailey, collectively known as “The Sisters Bailey”. The moniker was born out of a crazy weekend at the 2009 New Orleans Jazz Fest and it was the first time we had ever been referred to as one unit. We grew up in Alexandria, VA together and then separated for college - Perrin to The University of Pennsylvania and Sarah to Northwestern University – and somehow landed together in New York after graduation. It was in the midst of the hustle of Manhattan that we became friends for the first time in years. Somehow we landed jobs in the same industry - Sarah worked in marketing at HBO and Perrin managed creative digital promotions for her media agency’s main client, Disney - just three blocks from one another. One day we decided to leave our jobs, sell our belongings and travel abroad with a backpack and a collective savings of $10K. The stories of our continuing adventures and those of other fearless travelers are here to inspire you.
Quote | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to GUEST POST | The Job That Ruined Your Travel Plans

  1. Shirley Victor says:

    Hi,

    I have gone through your site https://sistersbailey.wordpress.com/and like it very much. I would like an exclusive guest post published on your site. The article would be 500+ words. Since you already publish guest posts from different authors in your niche, I thought it would be nice if I too had an opportunity to present your blog’s readers with something of real value.
    I understand the need for unique and well-researched content. The article will be unique and will not be published elsewhere on the internet. You can also provide author login/pw and I will contribute quality content to the site.

    Looking forward to hearing from you.

  2. Hello!

    I’ve really enjoyed reading https://sistersbailey.wordpress.com/ for the past couple of months – I think you’re doing an outstanding job! I thought I’d reach out to you because it would really be an honor to write for you! I’d love to write something about Travel. What do you think?

    If you’re interested I’d be happy to write something up and send it your way. I’m flexible too, if you have any other ideas.

    I hope to hear from you soon!

    Thank you

  3. Hi there, I agree of what you said “All I wanted was a little adventure”, in your position you really have lots of experiences. Thank you Savannah for posting this. Great help!

Leave a Reply

